Cakes!

3 Mar

Hello Kitty cake, Evie 4

Seeing the great ‘Hello Kitty’ cake my Daughter Helen (@BakingAitch) has made for Evie’s fourth birthday tomorrow the 4th March reminded me of cakes I made for Helen and my Son Richard for their childhood birthdays.

At first I chose the theme and as they got older I usually asked the question “What cake do you want for your birthday this year?”

As Richard’s birthday is 20th October and Helen’s is 21st October, I always had to make two cakes at once. The cakes were obviously not of professional standard but at the time everyone loved them and I enjoyed making them.

These are some of the cakes I made.

Age 3                          Teapot and hedgehog cake for a 3rd birthday

img063                                   Yet another teapot and a car

img071                                                     Doll and dice cakes

img064                                                         Hat and Batman cakes

img065           Tea party cake, complete with mini cake, cups and sandwiches

and cricket field cake.

I also found this photo of a cake I made for a friend’s baby’s Christening. All the trellis work and blue roses were made by me. I was very proud of this one!

img072

…and this was the cake I made for my Mother in laws 80th birthday in 1988

img075

Many years ago…..

H & R 1988

5 Responses to “Cakes!”

  1. Jo aka Kiwijo March 3, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Clever you. I have never made a brithday cake, so wouldnt even know where to start. These are great. :o)

    • eviesgran March 3, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      I love watching Helen making cakes now. Perhaps I wouldn’t know where to start these days!

  2. selfraisingflower March 3, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    What a lovely idea, I found photos of the cakes I made for my children the other day, I will have to scan them in!

  3. dawn hammond March 3, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    You are both really clever! X

  4. Karoline March 10, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Great cakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

