Quick (and healthier) steak pudding

20 Sep

In days gone by, to have a steak pudding would have involved long hours of steaming to cook both the meat and the pastry. Three hours at least. Over the years I have made this speedy much healthier version.

This is how I cooked the braising steak.

I fried the meat in a drop of vegetable oil and when brown, cooked it in the pressure cooker with a chopped onion and a beef stock cube and water to cover the meat by at least 2 inches, (the water always evaporates as steam, during cooking and I sometimes check after 45mins to make sure that the pressure cooker hasn’t dried out and if its looking likely,I top up with more hot water). Bring the pan to the boil, add the lid and put the weight on the lid and cook  for about 80 mins in total. Should the meat not be tender enough to your liking, pressure cook for a bit longer.

If more gravy is required ( and I always like lots of gravy- its the best bit!) add water till there is the amount you require, bring to boil and thicken  the gravy with a couple of spoonfuls of Bisto.

This braising steak was delicious when I had it a couple of days ago but I had leftovers so decided to make a pudding for today’s lunch.

I make my pudding pastry as follows:

5ozs Self Raising Flour

2ozs margarine or veg spread.

large pinch of salt.

Rub the fat into the flour and add approx 3 fluid ounces of cold water. Stir quickly and form the dough into a ball.

Take 2 thirds of this and place in a small basin, pushing it all around until it covers all the base and up the sides.

Add the meat and some gravy.

Flatten the last third of pastry between your hands until it is big enough to make a lid. Place on top of the pudding and seal the edges.

Cover with a large circle of baking parchment which you have folded a couple of creases across the top to allow for expansion of the pudding and tie on with string. Place on a plate to catch any overflowing gravy

Microwave on full power for 5 mins. The pudding with rise up under the baking parchment and sink back somewhat when steam is released.

This is the cooked pudding


Making the pastry with vegetable fat instead of suet is a far healthier option

I really enjoy it every time!

One Response to “Quick (and healthier) steak pudding”

  1. Cybele September 22, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I have given you a Liebster award! See my blog here http://stitchoneknittoo.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/sunday-23-september.html

Leave a comment