Mixed spice scones

29 Jun

I love hot cross buns  and  yesterday afternoon I could have just eaten one. I wanted something with similar flavours which I could produce quickly and so decided on scones with ‘hot cross bun’ flavours.

Recipe

8ozs S R Flour

1 level teaspoon baking powder

1 level teaspoon mixed spice powder

2ozs soft brown sugar

2ozs butter or vegetable fat

2 ozs sultanas

1 egg

a ‘glug’ of milk

Seive the flour, baking powder and mixed spice and rub in the butter (or vegetable fat) until the mixture resembles bread crumbs. Stir in the sultanas.

Add the beaten egg and a glug of milk and bring the mixture together in a ball. Handle the mixture as little as possible as overhandling makes for tough scones and of course light scones are so much nicer.

My mixture was quite wet, so I floured my hands  and placed on baking parchment on a baking tray in two large portions, leaving room around them so they could spread. I put a cross on top to mark four portions on each scone.

The scones were lovely, quick and easy with similar flavours to hot cross buns but completely different to a bread mixture.

although I think I still prefer my usual version of  ‘prizewinning scones’  which you can find here.

 

One Response to “Mixed spice scones”

  1. clairelouise82 June 30, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    Oh wow these look yummy I’ll have to give these a go. Thanks for sharing.x

Leave a Reply

