Cauliflower & chickpea curry (my variation!)

18 May

I found myself with half a cauliflower, after using the other half on Monday to make cauliflower cheese and as its now Friday, decided the second half needed using up while it was still fit to eat!

I decided to make a curry and after looking up recipes came up with this.  Traditionally fresh ginger is used and garlic is included but I had neither so these are the ingredients I used.

Half cauliflower

Can of chickpeas (drained)

1 medium onion

Can of chopped tomatoes.

1 rounded tsp of curry paste (madras)

1 level tsp of cumin powder

1 level tsp of coriander powder

1 level tsp ground ginger

1 level tsp of garamasala

1 level tsp of chili flakes

2/3 pinches of salt

4 twists of black pepper.

I  cut the cauliflower into florets and added to boiling water for 5 or so minutes to part cook and then drained.

I chopped the onion in half and after slicing it finely, added it to a desert spoon of olive oil in the frying pan and fried gently until it softened.

To this softened onion I added the curry paste, and all the dry spices and fryed them gently for a minute.

I then added a tin of chopped tomatoes, the drained chickpeas and the part cooked cauliflower florets and cooked with a lid on the pan for 10 minutes to let the spices permeate the vegetables.

By no means a traditional recipe…… extremely tasty nevertheless!

Leave a Reply

